---
title: "Advanced Timesheet Management"
canonical: "https://support.functionfox.com/space/GS/39323114/Advanced+Timesheet+Management"
format: markdown
---
## Advanced Timesheet Management

Use these tools to approve and lock timesheet entries, create batch timesheet entries, or move timesheet entries from one project to another. 

### Approve Timesheet

The Approve Timesheet tool allows users to review and approve Timesheet entries. This locks the entries on the Timesheet, so that no edits can be made. Approve Timesheet can be found under Timesheets in the left menu. 

**To Approve Timesheet Entries:**

1. Choose the date range of timesheet entries to be approved. (**Note:** a maximum of 90 days can be selected)
2. Choose to filter timesheet entries by approval status, client, project, department group, personnel, or project manager.
3. Choose whether to view timesheet entries by personnel, or by project.
4. Click **Show Time Entries**. The entries will be listed in the bottom half of the screen based on your selected settings.
5. Check the box beside each timesheet entry that you want to approve OR check the box in the column header to approve all entries by that user.

![Picture28.png](media://a7e9058a-533c-42ab-912d-1748f4b6bf4e)

**To Undo Timesheet Approval and Allow Edits:**

1. Use the filters at the top of the page to locate the approved entry.
2. Click **Show Time Entries**.
3. Uncheck the box next to the entry. The **edit** pencil will reappear, allowing the ability to edit the entry, and unlocking the entry on the timesheet.

**Note:** In order to use the Approve Timesheet feature, personnel must:

1. Have access to both ‘Approve Timesheets’ as well as ‘Other's Timesheets’ on the [Access Levels](https://functionfox.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/GS/pages/39322482) page.
2. Be designated a Project Manager. If you can see entries on this page but are unable to approve them, please ensure you are designated as a Project Manager on the Personnel > Manage page and try again.

### Lock Projects

The Lock Projects tool allows users a way to prevent the addition of new timesheet entries and edits to existing entries made against a project prior to and including the selected lock date. Lock Projects can be found under Timesheet in the left menu. 

**To Lock a Project:**

1. Select All Clients/All Projects or select specific Clients and Projects to lock.
2. Select the Lock Date (no new entries can be added on or before this date and existing entries will be locked from editing).
3. Click **Lock Projects**.

**Note:** Once Projects have been locked, you can view the Lock Date in the Projects table on the Projects > Manage page.

![Picture29.png](media://45383246-b946-4e68-b3e0-7c0d2b4a6a7d)

**To Unlock a Project:**

To unlock a project, select All Clients/All Projects or select specific Clients and Projects to unlock. Click the **Unlock Projects** button to remove all date locking from that project, allowing edits to previous entries and the addition of new timesheet entries.

### Batch Timesheet

The Batch Timesheet tool allows users the ability to add multiple timesheet entries at once. The maximum date range for each batch entry is 90 days. Batch Timesheet can be found under Timesheet in the left menu.

**Adding a Batch Timesheet Entry:**

1. Choose one or more users from the Personnel drop down menu.
2. Choose a Client, Project and Task from the drop-down menus.
3. Click within the date pickers to select the From and To dates.
4. Choose the days of the week to apply the timesheet entries to using the Apply To drop down menu.
5. Enter the total hours to be tracked per day in the Hours field.
6. Enter a Description for the timesheet entries (optional).
7. Click **Save**.

**Viewing Previous Batches:**

Use the date pickers to select your date range (the date range for searching is 31 days at a time). Click the** List **button to view a list of batches entered within that date range. 

**Editing Batch Timesheet Entries:**

Timesheet entries made using the Batch Timesheet tool can be edited through the Timesheet, or anywhere you can edit other timesheet entries. Refer to the **Editing and Deleting Timesheet Entries** section on the [How to Track Time](https://functionfox.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/GS/pages/39323041) page for more information. 

**Deleting a Batch Timesheet Entry:**

1. Click the **delete** icon next to the batch you wish to delete.
2. Confirm your choice in the confirmation pop-up that appears. Once the timesheet entries have been deleted, this cannot be undone.

### Transfer Timesheets

This tool allows you to transfer multiple timesheet entries between clients, projects, tasks, and personnel. To access this feature, navigate to **Project > Tasks** in the left menu. Under the Tips/Links, click the <u>Transfer Timesheets</u> link. 

Timesheet entries moved using this tool will retain their original entry date - entries will need to be edited individually if you wish to change the entry date. Refer to the **Editing and Deleting Timesheet Entries** section on the [How to Track Time](https://functionfox.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/GS/pages/39323041) page for more information. 

**Important Notes:**

- You **CANNOT** undo a timesheet transfer.
- You can only transfer time between projects that are in an open project status.
- You cannot transfer time if the project start date is after the date that the time was tracked.

**To Transfer Timesheets:**

1. You can’t undo a timesheet transfer, so a recommended first step is to save a detailed [Project Report](https://functionfox.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/GS/pages/39323780) for a record of how all entries appeared before any changes were made. This will also help you determine the date range for step 2.
2. Select the date range of timesheet entries to be moved.
3. Select the **Transfer From** details:
  1. Choose the client and project that time will be moved **from** using the appropriate drop-down menus.
  2. Select the task that the entries are currently tracked under. Note that only tasks with time entries in the date range selected will appear. The total hours tracked within that date range and the hourly rate (if applicable) will appear in brackets beside the task name.
  3. Select whether to transfer time tracked from all personnel or from a specific user.
4. Select the **Transfer To** details:
  1. Choose the client and project that time will be moved **to** using the appropriate drop-down menus.
  2. Select the task you wish to transfer to. **Note:** If the destination task is missing from the drop-down, you may need to add the task to the destination project from the **Projects > Tasks** page or choose another task to transfer the time to.
5. Select a specific user to move the timesheet entries to or select All Personnel to transfer the time to the same user who originally tracked the time.
6. Click **Transfer** and confirm your selection in the pop-up window.

![Picture27.png](media://ac150282-503e-42fd-943b-657c9f184dd7)