---
title: "Closing & Archiving"
canonical: "https://support.functionfox.com/space/GS/39324443/Closing%20%26%20Archiving"
format: markdown
---
## Closing and Archiving

#### Closing Projects

The process of closing projects is an important step in maintaining your FunctionFox account. Keeping your project statuses up to date helps team members stay informed, improves data accuracy, and helps streamline project management practices.

Moving a project into a closed status is also necessary in order to **archive** the project.

**To Close a Project**

1. Go to **Projects > Project Status **in the left menu.
2. On this page you’ll see a list of projects. What appears in this list is dependent on the filter settings at the top of the page - check your filters and set them to ‘All’ if you’re not seeing all of your projects listed.
3. Find the project that you want to close.
4. Click on the status within the project list and change it to Closed, or another closed type status (for more information on status types, see below).

![image-20250612-210819.png](media://b67dc2fe-4015-4673-8d30-7acdd5e959c4)

The status of a project can also be updated from other places within FunctionFox, such as the **Projects > Manage page** or the [Project Info Modal](https://support.functionfox.com/space/GS/39323343/Reviewing+Project+Details).

#### Managing Status Options

Your FunctionFox account includes **Open** and **Closed** as your default project status options.

**To Customize Your Status Options:**

1. Go to **Projects > Manage** in the left menu.
2. Click on the bolded **Status** link above the Project Status filter at the top of the page
3. Enter a status into the Status field (e.g. In Progress, Design, On Hold, Waiting on Client, etc.)
4. Select a **Status Type**
  - **Open** types allow you to track time, enter expenses, assign actions, etc.
  - **Closed** types limit the ability to add/adjust time, expenses, and scheduled items, and also allows you to archive the project.
5. Click **Save New**

![Picture70.png](media://3a0116ea-80b6-4e87-8113-61e912bea464)

You can **edit** an existing status by clicking on the pencil icon next to the status. Make your desired changes and click **Save Edit**. You cannot delete a status that has projects associated with it, however, you can **archive** a status that you no longer wish to use going forward.

#### Archiving Projects

Archiving a Project is recommended once the Project is complete and no longer needed for time tracking or scheduling. Archiving ensures that you are only viewing your currently active Projects, so they can remain your top priority.

Once a Project has been moved into a 'Closed' type status, you can archive it. Archiving is a way to put a Project into "storage" so that you will no longer see it listed with your open and closed Projects, however, all data is saved for reporting purposes. You can report on archived Projects using the Project Report, and you can always de-archive projects as needed.

**To Archive a Project**

1. Go to the **Projects > Manage** or the **Projects > Project Status** page.
2. Locate the project and click on the archive checkbox under the Archive column. If the Archive column isn’t visible, click on the table settings (3 bars) to activate it

You can also archive closed projects across multiple Clients by clicking on the Tips/Links and then the <u>Archive Projects</u> link.

![Picture69.png](media://c79dbe3b-6403-4d04-a174-42952e53e46b)

#### De-archiving Projects

To de-archive a project that you have archived:

1. Go to the **Projects > Manage** page.
2. Select All Projects or Archived Projects Only from the **Project State **filter at the top of the page
3. Locate the archived Project and uncheck the Archive checkbox under the Archive column

You can also de-archive Projects across multiple Clients by clicking on the Tips/Links on either the Projects > Manage or Projects > Project Status pages and then on the <u>De-Archive Projects</u> link.

The De-Archive Projects page is filtered by default to only show projects archived in the last 90 days. You’ll need to use the search field or adjust the filters at the top of the page if you’re not seeing the project that you want to de-archive.

#### Archiving Clients

Have a client that you are no longer working with? You can archive inactive clients to remove them from your client list. Clients can only be archived when all projects belonging to them are in a **Closed status**.

**To Archive a Client:**

1. Go to **Clients > Manage **in the left menu.
2. Click on the Archive Client checkbox under the Archive Client column. If the Archive Client column isn’t visible, click on the table settings (3 bars) to activate it

**De-Archiving Clients**

1. Change the **Client State **filter at the top of the page to All Clients or Archived Clients Only
2. Locate your archived Client in the Clients table and uncheck the Archive Client checkbox

![image-20250604-202538.png](media://520b1228-6806-41df-bbca-d7266e1c5469)

#### Archiving Personnel

When you have a user who no longer requires access to your FunctionFox account, we recommend that you archive them. This will remove their ability to log in to the account, but all of their historical data will be saved for reporting purposes. You can de-archive a user if you wish to reactivate their login in the future.

**To Archive a User**

1. Go to **Personnel > Manage** in the left menu.
2. Click on the **Archive** checkbox to the left of their name in the Personnel table. If the Archive column isn’t visible, click on the table settings (3 bars) to activate it

**To De-Archive a User**

1. Change the **Personnel State** filter at the top of the Personnel > Manage page to All Personnel or Archived Personnel Only.
2. Locate your archived user in the Personnel list and uncheck the Archive checkbox to reinstate them as an active user.

![image-20250701-202445.png](media://6037a0ef-d130-47e0-a232-f608be39b0f9)

> ℹ️ ![image-20240603-211150.png](media://9547a7fb-c0ce-4da0-9629-7ca0a7c247f8)
> ℹ️ 
> ℹ️ **FOX TIP: **Have you archived a user that you don’t plan to immediately replace? [Reach out](mailto:billing@functionfox.com) to the FunctionFox Billing Department to have the number of active users adjusted on your upcoming invoice.